Measure of possessions

A few weeks ago T and I digitally signed the lease for the San Francisco apartment we only knew from photos, and our agent gave us some rough room dimensions to fantasize with.

It was still hard to visualize the layout and reduction in square footage, so prior to putting all our possessions on the moving truck, I went around the house with a tape measure capturing dimensions on most of our larger furniture items.

Thoroughness is my game.

Fast forward a week or so, and here we are at our tinier-than-anticipated 3rd floor apartment in San Francisco, awaiting the arrival of the moving truck, and perhaps (no, definitely) dreading the import of boxes and furniture.

How do we own so much stuff? And where is it all going to go??

My answer, or attempted answer, to this was to break out the tape measure and obtain the true (but still approximate, because I don’t know what I’m doing) dimensions of the apartment, and then, sitting on the floor with a sharpie and 2 pens, I sketched a floorplan based on these measurements. Using the previous furniture measurements, I went about the Tetris-like feat of trying to place everything.

Lucky for me, I like Tetris.

Some of it’s a little unconventional, but I think it could work!

Leave a Reply

