It fits!

Two Christmases ago T and I took a trip to visit his brother’s family, and while we were there, he and his brother’s wife looked through some of his mother’s jewelry. He showed me some of the pieces he selected but told me not to look in one particular black box. And for almost 2 years I haven’t.

I’m a curious cat, of course, so don’t think I haven’t been tempted. I’ve encountered that box often enough in our various moves over the past couple of years, and each time I could easily have opened it up and had a peek. Good on me for self-discipline!

He showed it to me yesterday. He brought out the little black box, told me it had belonged to his mother and asked me to open it. It’s a beautiful antique silver ring with real sapphires.

photo

“Do you want to try it on?” he asked.

“Of course!” I said. “I don’t know if it’ll fit though …” *slips perfectly onto my finger* “Oh, what?!”

We were both totally surprised. I mean, I don’t really wear rings because they usually don’t fit well and feel uncomfortable. He told he’d wanted to surprise me with it at the wedding next month but wasn’t sure if it would fit, figured we’d need to take it to a jeweler to get it re-sized in time.

How crazy is it that we don’t have to??

With everything moving so quickly with T and I, I hadn’t given much thought to having an “engagement” ring. It’s not something that’s important to me. But this ring: I love it, I love what it means to him and to his family. It’s beautiful, unique, and deeply meaningful–all those things you could want in a ring.

So happy!

Leave a Reply

