Ravens

away

I’ll miss the ravens the most when I go. I’ll miss the way they approach me, mouths open like baby birds. I’ll miss the sound of big black wings husking around me as I walk by the ocean. I’ll miss the gawky juveniles with their big fluffy heads, over eager and so skittish at the same time. I’ll miss my friend who flies so close he almost brushes me with his wings, the way he’ll come trotting up through a big crowd and look me in the eye like he’s not afraid.

I’ve only known these ravens a few months, but in that short time they’ve become an immense part of my heart.

IMG_2520

Leave a Reply

